Is The Select (theselect.co.uk) a scam?
Posted on 23 July 2009 by Ian Batten
About the author...
Related posts:
| Post continued... |
The Select is an online agent specialising in selling products to online wholesalers, and providing a dropshipping programme. The services they offer are tiered, with better savings being available on the higher priced packages. But, is The Select worth the money?
Will The Select scam me?
Scam? That’s a little strong. The Select will sell you a service, and you will receive that service – so technically no, they will not scam you. But will you be as successful as they make you? That’s debatable. Their amazing own homepage reviews and package promises show the profit margins and money that is to be made on reselling their products on Amazon and eBay. But what they are telling you is totally realistic. For example, on the highest package, they will show you an iPod that you can buy for just £60, and sell for £90 on eBay, minus fees, about £20 profit! But what they don’t tell you, is that most of those iPods on eBay are being sold for around £70, leaving little or no profit margin at all.
The question is where to sell. eBay and Amazon are the most obvious sales venues, but really there are many other better alternatives. With the large fees of these venues, it’s a much better to use cheaper alternatives such as eCrater, or set up your own website where there will be no selling fees. By doing this, it’s more likely to profit from the products that The Select offer.
Do you want to sell on eBay?
If so, I would advise against using The Select. It will not prove profitable for you, and you will not be reimbursed any fees that you have paid. Save your money, and go shopping elsewhere!
Tags | dropship, scam, The Select, Wholesale

i can confirm exactly what i saw and red here. i am one of they agent (victim) and still trying to get refund of my money but i got nothing so far and i am looking for a legal way to do it.please keep away from this people and try to publish it in the media and internet to let other people know.
Please avoid these at all costs. I stupidly signed up as I fell for their ‘huge profit’ scheme as it states on their homepage. I rang them and signed up for £39 per month. What I didnt realsie was I was signing up to a 12month contract to which you cant get out of. Therefore I have paid £468 for absolutely nothing!! I complained on a regular bases and there was nothing I could do (i’m still going to seek legal advice) I told them they had broken their contract as their service states ‘compete with ebay sellers’ but this was not the case. Please avoid these guys and BEN is a total wank shaft.
AVOID AVOID AVOID.
Bahram – did you have any luck with llegal advice?
This is not a scam, but is not realistic either, i joined last year when nintendo wiis were booming. they were selling them at £178 pretty much the same as ebay, and it was the same for all there products. they claim lots of profit, but they use rrp’s and no one sells at rrp.
You will not make profit if you plan to use ebay. STAY AWAY!!
I say everyone get together and get The Select sorted because they are ripping too many people off. I got an account with them like 3 years ago and blimy it’s shocking they still exist, I mean they sell junk and that same junk can be bought on eBay, the prices are not profitable at all. I think a guy called Ben is running the show the wanker. I didn’t get refund either!!! Miserable and most shocking experience I say get these guys dealt with!
Kaf, were you promised a refund if you didn’t like the service? If so, and you did not receive a refund – you could easily escalate this case to higher authority.
I to signed up and was told i could cancel at any time but guess what after 5 months of crap i cancelled and was told by Ben it is a rock solid 12 month contract. Oh well only 1 month to go and i would advise avoiding cause all products that you can sell are always out of stock.
Steve, why have you not tried to take this further? If you had agreed to a non-restricted contract, then you would be able to take this swindler to court.
have him killed
Well said
I’m so glad I came across this page. I signed up to this last year after asking questions then once during the month trial realised I wasn’t going to get anywhere and cancelled the direct debit before they could take anything. They have been hounding me ever since and most recently have sent me an email saying that they are going to go to debt collectors etc etc. I still refuse to pay and will keep you up to date. They’re maybe not scamming but they’re not honest and I have lots of evidence.
Thanks for your information. They have just had a big advertisment in a making money magazine and I was seriously considering using them. I guess it is hard to find a decent company nowadays you can build a business with. Does anyone know of any other dropshipping companies who actually deliver what they say?
Holy Crap!!!!!
i am so glad i found this page i was seriously thinking about joing this company but after reading this maybe i shall keep looking.
dose anyone know of any good dropshipping company?????